COVID-19 UPDATES

COVID-19 UPDATES

As of Monday, March 16, 2020

St. John's UMC Family,

After a lengthy meeting, it has been decided to close the church effective today, March 16, 2020. We hope to resume a regular schedule as quickly as possible, but are following all CDC and State and Local guidelines, and will adjust as needed in the weeks and days after March 31. This means that all church services, events, and in-person meetings have been canceled through the end of the month. We will begin live streaming our Sunday Services and Lenten Taize Services starting this Wednesday and will continue to do so while we are closed. Please tune in Sunday, March 22, and Sunday, March 29 on Facebook Live. We will then make week to week decisions based on the latest information available. If you need help setting up a Facebook account, please email Hannah.

Please know that we are taking every precaution necessary to make sure our church will be cleaned, disinfected, and looked after. The staff will be working, some in the office and some remotely. All staff will be available via email or cell phone (contact information will be listed at the bottom of this email.)

We have temporally disabled member and weekday ministry code numbers at all entrances. If you need access to the building, please contact a member of the staff.

We know this is a strange, new and unsettling time for us all. You may be looking for ways to help, or in need of help.

If you need assistance with basic errands or day to day needs and are in a "high risk" group, or if you can help anyone in a "high risk" group, please email Sarah Crockford. We will match people in need of care with people available to assist.

Please continue worshiping through your tithes, offerings, and pledges. The work of the church will continue during this time, and needs are higher than before. We are making every effort to minimize expenses and maximize our resources, as our staff is working to engage with the church and community in new ways. You can either mail your contributions (321 S. Oakland Avenue, Rock Hill, SC 29730), give online through the St. John's App via Push Pay, or you can text stjohnsrhgive to 77977.

You can give to the Pastors Discretionary Fund, by choosing the Pastors Discretionary Fund option on the Drop-Down menu on Push Pay, or mailing a check, with Discretionary Fund in the memo. The Discretionary Fund will be used to assist families that have financial hardship during this time. The Preschool and After-School programs have closed for now, which could create a financial hardship for those employees. Some of our church families are employed in industries that will be shut down. If you find yourself in a hardship, please contact either Rodney or Ryan, and we will offer whatever assistance we can.

Please continue to check your email and social media accounts and share it with anyone who may not have received this information.

We will continue to update with news and information through email, social media, and on the church website.

Please know that we love each of you and are praying for your families. We encourage you to check on your neighbors and seek to be the church to a hurting world; however, you can. Remember, in the coming days, our call to do good, do no harm, and stay in love with God.

St. John's UMC Staff-
Dr. Rodney Powell- rpowell@stjohnsrh.org or 803-617-9524
Rev. Ryan Powell- ryanpowell@stjohnsrh.org or 980-275-1844
Dr. Timothy Belflowers- tbelflowers@stjohnsrh.org or 704-340-6408
DC Horne- dchorne@stjohnsrh.org or 803-517-2144
Sarah Crockford- scrockford@stjohnsrh.org or 803-517-8004
Val Kenney- vkenney@stjohnsrh.org or 803-322-2909
Hannah Lunny- hlunny@stjohnsrh.org or 864-421-3042
Sharon Booth- sbooth@stjohnsrh.org or 603-547-5862
David Powell- dpowell@stjohnsrh.org or 803-627-2333